kworker and watchdog taking CPU power

After installing the daily update on my Lenovo T61 and rebooting the system, I had some strange issues with the kernel processes kworker and watchdog. Either kworker or watchdog took about 60% of the CPU power. Unfortunately switching back to an older kernel version did not fix it. Thus after searching the web, I found out that this problem is related to the network connection (see [1] for details). Since I am using wifi to connect, I disabled my ethernet interface by

ifconfig eth0 down

, which solved the problem.

I know this is not a general solution to this problem, but it may help wifi-only users as I am.

[1] : https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/717919

One thought on “kworker and watchdog taking CPU power

Leave a Reply

